Recipe : Sausage, kale and egg breakfast pizza

Breakfast on a Sunday is my raindrops on roses or whiskers on kittens. I love trawling Pinterest for new recipes (one of my favourite boards to follow for inspiration is ‘Breakfasts & Brunches’ by Donal Skehan), ordering the ingredients with my weekly shop, waking up on a Sunday and taking my time to create something new.

My boyfriend, Luke, is a huge pizza fan. Huge. So when I did a Google search for ‘breakfast pizza’ I was pretty  pleased to find that Buzzfeed had already curated a list of the best. On there I found a gluten free recipe for a kale and egg breakfast pizza. I adapted the recipe slightly and added sausage – y’know, cause it’s gotta have meat.

Bases

Uncooked

Pizza

Breakfast pizza


Ingredients:

Makes two pizzas.

  • Gluten free pizza mix (I used Glebe Farm)
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 leek, chopped
  • 3 handfuls of chopped kale
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 sausages, sliced into discs

Instructions:

  1. Pre-heat your oven to 200 C.
  2. Follow the instructions to make your pizza bases and put them in the oven for 10-15 minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, sauté your kale, leek and garlic for 10 minutes.
  4. Once the bases are out of the oven, load them up with the kale mix and then place the discs of sausage on top (like you would with pepperoni).
  5. Put the pizzas back in the oven for 20-25 minutes.
  6. With five minutes to go, poach two eggs.
  7. Take the pizzas out of the oven and serve the poached eggs on top.
  8. Season with rock salt and cracked black pepper.
Leave a Reply

